After some recent heat I have seen from the rad fem crowd lately I felt it was necessary to produce this piece that essentially explains why the “Men invading women’s spaces” argument is wrong.

About the nature of transsexuality…

Deutsch: Symbol der Frauenpower (Geballte Faus...

Image via Wikipedia

First off, lets understand gender as we experience it first.  Shall we begin.  This part is important because if you miss this part the rest of the blog isn’t going to make a lot of sense.  Transsexuality is a condition that results from a neuroendocrine system which was not a fertile ground on which to set up the proper mapping, and as a result trauma is the fruits.  This starts very young before an understanding of the Patriarchy, or of really anything else does.  But this does not matter, what does is that the conflict breeds trauma with ignored, and left untreated even if “favorable” behaviors can be fostered, or coerced.  Gender Binary is more than just a system, but also is a coercive oppressive regime which facilitates that aforementioned trauma, even in children who don’t have GID.  The argument is that transsexuality isn’t real, that it’s a myth.  But I assure you it is not, and the evidence (not wild rantings) supports that conclusion.  Furthermore, I refer to an instance which specifically contradicts that… Gender Identity Disorder in Childhood.  Children as early as 3 insisting they are the other gender.  Patriarchal Oppression is a learned, or acquired behavior.  So you’re saying this children are just patriarchates waiting to rape the vestiges of woman hood?  I highly doubt you, or anyone for that matter could find evidence to support that case.

However, what really is at work here under this “myth” assumption is the dehumanization (whether intentional or circumstantially) of a group for a condition which defies social convention.  Denying this reality, the reality of transgender people and those with other non-conforming gender identities is the oldest trick in the book.  Deny or erasure of a trait or identity, then apply your own definitions to it, then use those definitions to undermine the position of those with that identity.  You then say “It’s a choice” and you have made the soup of fear and discrimination which attacks many different groups for the fact they defy convention.  Saying its a choice doesn’t validate discrimination against it, nor do your rights to choose as you see fit for yourself depend on it being a choice.  It’s the same old anecdote, just with different words.  It’s some of the same argument made against homosexuals, birth control and preventive care for women, and same-sex marriage.  The argument doesn’t become more right because it is against a transgender person.  Wrong is wrong is wrong.  However, if you don’t believe it then do the research yourself and you will find that I am correct.  Look at the American Psychological Association, the American Psychiatric Association, and the American Medical Association’s positions on it, then go through the tons of evidence that indicates that it is a very real thing, and that the treatment follows the necessary protocol.

Denying this is denying the reality all people like myself face, and facilitates our persecution, destruction of rights, rapes and murders.  It’s the same thing the patriarchy does to you to facilitate its power, and the injustices you face; and in fact that attitude against us is actually helping the patriarchy.

As for the perceptions of invasion by deception…

Radical feminists poster: "Hate White Ric...

"I hate white rich straight men" (Image via Wikipedia)

As for the idea that transwoman are “in disguise for invading women’s spaces”, where do you have any evidence of this occurring?  Where has it occurred that a “normal” man dressed up as a woman for the purposes of going to a feminist rally?  Where has it occurred that a man used women’s clothing to gain access to a space he would not otherwise have access to?  There needs to be evidence, and we aren’t talking about evidence like the follow example:  A transwoman at a feminist rally, a transwoman in the women’s restroom, or a transwoman at a rape crisis center after being raped.  The existence of transwomen, or transsexuality isn’t dependent on their being women’s only spaces.  The problem with this argument is a surprising level of short-sighted ignorance in it, and an even more shocking lack of evidence to support this claim.  Speaking for me only, I don’t want into these spaces, in fact if I never need them I may never use them.  However, should I be raped God forbid I actually need a safe place to receive treatment and support that won’t actually put me more at risk.

God forbid I be a transfeminist trying to fight for my rights to exist and be protected and safe, and need a space to have my voice heard.  God forbid I need shelter from assault and rape I could face on the street were I to be a homeless transwoman.  God forbid we need these services with the unsurprising vacuum of available services open and safe for us.  Simply because we aren’t anatomically women by birth doesn’t mean we suddenly have a vacancy of the need for these types of support.  Now, I can understand that for many women who have been victimized by men there may be a bit of uneasiness around transwomen, but that isn’t because there is a real threat but because of the rampant mischaracterization of transgender people (particularly transwomen).  Women, especially Radical Feminists are afraid of and threatened by us because you teach them and yourselves to be that way.  You proliferate this “Real Womyn” bullshit and create the very problem which you are so afraid of.  You by your own ignorance are creating this…  For some of you, you are choosing to remain ignorant.

You deny our transsexuality, which denies the condition of which for most of us is out of our control.  You then begin to build your argument around the void you created and try to explain the phenomenon with incomplete data.  Without the overpowering biological urge to do this which you deny, the only other alternative you can come up with is that we choose to do it.  Once you have settled on the flawed methodology you start to try to extrapolate purpose.  The conclusion from you appears to be that in the pretense of patriarchy that the only reason a man would become a woman would be to infiltrate.  In a culture of rape your mind begins to entertain the harrowing possibility of a patriarchate in your protected spaces.  It’s all paranoia, because I assure you this… the Patriarchal Reich finds being a woman to be beneath them, and to be quite in contradiction to their constitutions as sexism, bigoted plagues to female agency.  No sane person, and perhaps no person ever may be willing to go that far to get into the “woman’s experience”.  The evidence tends to support that later conclusion.  Our genders aren’t about your spaces, parts, vestiges or otherwise and it is arrogant to think they are.  My body is about my needs.

As for the appearances of transwomen and stereotypes…

APA "gender identity disorder" prote...

APA "gender identity disorder" protest poster (Photo credit: jokestress)

There may be a notable number of transwomen out there who epitomize the gender stereotypes.  There is also a surprising number of cisgender women doing the same, some of them feminists as well.  But I ask you to do just this… Keep your stereotypes out of my gender.  My behaviors are closely modeled after a few of my mother’s.  She was my role model and the parent with which I felt the closest and I identified with.  This was because of my gender identity to a degree, and partly due to my overly sensitive and gentle nature as a child.  I was quiet and reserved but once I warmed up to someone I was quite the chatterbox.  I show openly many of those behaviors that were fostered by my relationship with my mother.  Many of them are also associated with gender in our culture.  But those behaviors aren’t my gender, and they in of themselves have no gender.  They are genderless traits learned through a parent child relationship.  I obsess over taking care of my hair because learned that from the parent I identified with, not because I was trying to “pretend” I was a girl.  I admired the things and properties of my mother and those things have always been the main aspects of my character, even as a male.

Indeed for many of us, myself as an example, were already the allies of women as we were in our old gender role.  We were already the one’s you felt safe with, already the ones whom you trusted and have that trust rewarded positively.  Before I transitioned I was a feminist, I am still a feminist.  My perspectives and beliefs didn’t change because my body did, they are persistent.  Yes, I may not be a woman in the sense that I was born into that, but I am a woman in the sense that it is a deep and real part of who I am.  I would rather die that live as something I am not.  I’d rather give up those parts of me that go towards that the Patriarchates believe are the core of their “right to rule”.  Those parts are meaningless to me, but my life and my body have value to me.  I want to still be a whole and functional person without the reminders of that past, and that is just a part of my condition.  You must understand that there was no capacity in us to just be “feminists as men” to support the rights and liberation of women everywhere as we were.  Some transwomen realized the realities of the patriarchy afterwards, a few never do, and some of us (myself included) always had an awareness of it.  This is no less true of ciswomen.  Some had epiphanies and realized, a few never do, but some were always eerily aware of the nature of the prison their society was creating around them.

Français : Activiste des transgenres à une man...

Because God forbid a person looking like the woman in this picture would need protection from rapists, abusers, murderers and those of patriarchal inclination. Oh, wait that does happen because we are excluded quite often from the services we need to survive and thrive. (Image via Wikipedia)

People have accused me of being sexist because I am transgender and for that reason only, and I tell them that they are wrong.  Gender Expression is something we learn from our environment, but gender identity isn’t acquired in that way it is innate.  There are other trans people out there both binary aligned, and those non-binary aligned.  Radical Feminism, you would do well to take to heart what I said here, both for me and for others out there from transman to genderqueer.  Our genders aren’t a property of the patriarchy and they exist independently.  We all would do well to educate ourselves and work together to end the patriarchy, the force that attempts to imprison, subjugate and relegate us all to the status of second class citizens.  The behaviors of conscientious transwomen everywhere do not differ from those of our cisgender counterparts, the only difference lies in our experiences and perceptions which can and often are woefully inadequate.  We stand more to gain from learning from each other that we do standing against each other in ignorance.  While our narratives differ the quality that makes us targets is all to similar, and quite familiar.

By standing up and discounting your transgender sisters you are essentially indirectly justifying the violence, rape and vacuum of rights the patriarchy perpetrates against us… You are saying that it’s okay to rape us because we are trans, it’s okay to discriminate against us because we are trans, and it’s okay to kill us because we are trans and less than human.  Does that argument sound chillingly familiar to those used against every oppressed group throughout history to include women and people of color?  It should, and it’s implication should be cause for you to act and open your eyes for once.  Being a transwoman or a ciswoman comes with its own risks and challenges but as I have said time and time again there is a commonality of great concern to the both of us, and you know it.  You can’t hold against someone something which they have no control over.

